Problem with LCD monitor

edited June 2007 in Hardware
I am running Windows XP, and my video card is NVIDIA GeForce2 Ultra.

I have a Samsung SyncMaster 570V TFT LCD monitor. I have owned it for several years now, and just in the past hour I have started to experience problems with it.

I was just surfing the internet when my monitor flickered, and the color quality drastically lowered. Whereas before it was crisp, it now hurts my eyes to look at the monitor for more than a couple minutes.

It's hard to explain exactly how it looks, because in some cases the colors seem dark and faded, but it also hurts my eyes like a bright light would.

I also notice grey lines a lot on the screen.

Example 1: When I highlight my text in this box, I see a grey line that extends across the screen, but it is only where my text is. I also notice different shades of it depending on how much text is there.

So when I highlight it, it looks like...

Line 1 *DARK GREY*"I have a Samsung SyncMaster..." *DARK GREY*
Line 2 *LIGHT GREY* "started to experience " *LIGHT GREY*
Line 3 No text, no gray
Line 4 *DARK GREY* "I was just surfing" *DARK GREY*

Example 2: There is also something happening when I open up smaller windows, like the Task Manager. At the top of the Task Manager, there are about 2 lines worth of dark grey that extends all the way across the screen, and when I move the task manager up and down on my screen, the grey will follow it exactly. On the bottom there is also a thin grey line as well.

So when I move the task manager, it's as if theres a shadow of it across the entire screen that moves in sync with it. It is very noticeable.

Any help would be appreciated with this, and if you have any questions I will answer as best I can. I am unsure if this is a monitor problem or video card problem, so even if you can just point me in the right direction, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you.

Comments

• ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited May 2007