Overclocking an athlon 64 3700+ 2.4 754 socket cpu

edited May 2007 in Hardware
Hi folks,

I am new to this site and was hoping someone could point me to step by step guide or instructional thread on overclocking an athlon 64 3700+ 2.4 with 754 socket (desktop machine). The system also has an nvidia fx 5200 256mb video card and 2gig of standard memory. I have noticed that the system is a bit shaky when editing hi-def video and the like, and I do not yet have the funds to upgrade. If I am right I should be able to overclock the core 2.4 to about a 3.2 or better, which along with an overclock of the video card should make my video edits more fluid (like an entry level duo core would, I hope).

Again I am looking for step by step instructions since i have never done anything like this before, and would rather not screw up my slow but dependable system.

Thanks

Dave

Comments

• BuddyJBuddyJ Dept. of Propaganda OKC Icrontian
    edited May 2007
    Welcome to SM, soon to be Icrontic, Dave! If you want to overclock your rig, it'd help to know a few things. If you can, list the brand of memory you have, and also, we're going to need to know what motherboard you've got. The motherboard, RAM and processor are really key components here.

Also, what kind of PSU does your system have? Sometimes, getting a good overclock means you've got to pump up the voltage to certain components, and you need to be sure to have a power supply that can handle pushing extra juice.
  • edited May 2007
    The memory is generic ([FONT=arial, helvetica]1GB DDR 128MX64 (64Mx8 Low Density DRAM CHIPS) Memory Module). The motherboard is the Asus K8V Deluxe (754 socket). The power unit is the ATX 12volt Thermaltake, 420 watts. Thanks for the assist.
    [/FONT]
    edited May 2007