New External HD

ThelemechThelemech Victoria Icrontian
edited June 2007 in Hardware
I have some files that I need to back up - I have done some research online and talk the talk at the stores - I was wondering about personal experiences any of you had with external HD
I am not a newbie - been playing with these wonders ? Curses:rolleyes::wink:
since the T1/99, I just do not have the cash to experiment with much more than newly deemed archaic equipment.
200 to 500 Gb is the area I will Probably need.

Comments

• ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited May 2007
    Seagate and WD externals are generally the best. They work like a flash drive; plug them in, they show up as a drive in Windows Explorer.
  • ThelemechThelemech Victoria Icrontian
    edited May 2007
    Thank you- Is it really better to go encased (as I have read)- or is simple external reliable enough?
  • Your-Amish-DaddyYour-Amish-Daddy The heart of Texas
    edited June 2007
    Alot of external hard drives have a fan in there to cool it off.
  • MissilemanMissileman Orlando, Florida Icrontian
    edited June 2007
    Buffalo makes an external loaded enclosure named Drive Station. It is identical to a WD External and will save you quite a few bucks over the WD.

I have never been much for Buffalo products, but since they came out with the Link Station Pro and the Drive Station externals I think they have finally hit the mark. Good products, fast performance, and great prices.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=2010150414+50001646&Subcategory=414&description=&Ntk=&srchInDesc=
  • QeldromaQeldroma Arid ZoneAh Member
    edited June 2007
    Thelemech wrote:
    Thank you- Is it really better to go encased (as I have read)- or is simple external reliable enough?