Im new to folding and I have some questions

Red787Red787 Chicago, IL
edited May 2007 in Folding@Home
I just got into folding today and I have a few questions. I have been reading the FAQ's at Stanford as well as looking all over the forums here for info but I am still a little confused since I am new. I think some of the terminology is what's getting me too. I currently have the console version running right now. It seems to be working fine. I have an Intel Core 2 Extreme X6800 with 3 gigs of RAM. How many others can I run on here? Can I run two consoles and a graphical client on this machine? If so how do I do it so it works right. I read something about making sure the consoles are in separate folders but how do I assign them different machine id's, or do I even need to? Would it be better just to run one console and one client? I also have another PC with a P4 2.8Ghz with HT and 2 gigs of RAM. What can I run on there? On any computer all I have to do is install the programs and make sure they are running right? I don't have to do anything else, when it comes to reporting and getting new cores it does everything automatically, right? Is there anything in advanced settings that I can do to get the optimum amount of points and cores completed? Thank you very much for any help you all can give me on this.

Comments

• SPIKE09SPIKE09 Scatland
    edited May 2007
    Different machine ids is under the advanced options , with a machine of that power it would be well worth checking out the SMP client as it will garner more points and advance the project much faster.

spike
    PS welcome to the team:D
  • QeldromaQeldroma Arid ZoneAh Member
    edited May 2007
    Red787, you have an impressive piece of hardware in the X6800 and, like Spike said, I’d go with the SMP client on that machine.

Here is a link to help with SMP clients