Emergency keyboard problem!

edited May 2007 in Hardware
Hello, I'm new here. I have a serious problem that might involve formatting and reinstalling everything, but I wanted to try you guys first. No one else has been able to help me so far, and I heard that you know what you're talking about here.

This may not seem like an emergency at first, but let me just emphasize that I'm a writer so this is a serious problem that is affecting my livelihood!

I've always used the US-international keyboard in Windows XP because when I write, I often have to use international characters. With the US-international keyboard, one has to type the apostrophe or quotation key and then hit another key before it will appear i.e. if you type an apostrophe and then an "s", it will come out as ('s) like it should. This is so that accents on vowels can be easily typed.

Today, a strange problem began happening and I can't figure out the reason. Suddenly, when I type an apostrophe (') I end up with two apostrophes with only one keystroke (''). This also happens with quotations (""), the grave accent (``), tildes (~~), and carets (^^). When I hit any of these keys, I get double!

The strangest thing is, when I restart my computer and begin fresh, everything behaves normally until I open up a folder! I can open up Firefox or my email program and type away normally. As soon as I open up a folder, this problem occurs and the only way to stop it is to restart again or switch to the regular US keyboard.

The other strange thing that started happening is that the buttons on the side of my mouse (the Logitech MX500) no longer work when navigating folders, but they work normally when I navigate through webpages in Firefox.