Need help with hard lockups.

edited September 2005 in Hardware
I just reciently put together a new system.
Athon 64 3500+
Abit AV8 Motherboard
512x4 Crucial DDR400 (2GB)
2 WD Raptor 74GB drives in RAID 0
ATI AIW 9600 AGP Card
using onboard nic and audio
2003 server standard ed. (32bit)
No overclocking everything in bios set to auto

Sometimes the system will boot to right before you get the blue or grey background before you get the login prompt and just reboot again. Others the system will stay up and running for a couple of hours and all of a sudden it will hard lockup. Other I will boot up and watch a mpg or something and just lockup hard. It is always a hard lockup! I have the latest drivers for everything, using omega vid drivers, also the latest via chipset drivers, raid drivers. I have also tried to bump the memory voltage up one notch to see if that helped. I didn't see anymore reboots but I still got a hard lockup. I build pcs for a living but I don't know what I can try next.
I have also run dr. divx all night long for over 8 hours converting movies and it stays up and running. That usually uses a lot of processing power. Any ideas???

Comments

• kryystkryyst Ontario, Canada
    edited October 2004
    Have you done anything to your system just before all of this started like XP SP2 or new hardware or anything? If not start by:

First memtest86 to check your ram.

Next delete and re-create your pagefile

Then repair install
  • GnomeWizarddGnomeWizardd Member 4 Life Akron, PA Icrontian
    edited October 2004
    memtest86 baby!
  • edited October 2004
    kryyst wrote:
    Have you done anything to your system just before all of this started like XP SP2 or new hardware or anything? If not start by:

First memtest86 to check your ram.

Next delete and re-create your pagefile

Then repair install

uhhh... 2003 server is my OS.

I downloaded both memtest and prime95 but haven't had time to run them.