ASUS P5GD1 setup

edited September 2005 in Hardware
The P5GD1 only comes with 1 IDE connector (blue) and 2 for RAID (red) i believe, as well as 4 SATA connectors. I'm only using 1 IDE hdd and 1 IDE cd drive.

cd drive is jumper set to master
ide hdd is set to master

now i can't put them on one cable because i guess my case doesn't allow for it or the ribbons are too short.

i put the cd drive on the blue IDE connection and then the hdd on one of the RAID ports. I can boot to the cd rom but then the windows installer can't see the hard drive during the installation.

i tried reversing the situation and then I get a bsod with stop 0x0000007B when the files are done loading.

any suggestions?
(i have not tried to press F6, or configure any RAID options, i am a RAID noob so i thought i would just start out going plain jane IDE)

Comments

• zenusic5zenusic5 Metro Atlanta
    edited January 2005
    denass wrote:
    The P5GD1 only comes with 1 IDE connector (blue) and 2 for RAID (red) i believe, as well as 4 SATA connectors. I'm only using 1 IDE hdd and 1 IDE cd drive.

ide hdd is set to master

now i can't put them on one cable because i guess my case doesn't allow for it or the ribbons are too short.

i put the cd drive on the blue IDE connection and then the hdd on one of the RAID ports. I can boot to the cd rom but then the windows installer can't see the hard drive during the installation.

i tried reversing the situation and then I get a bsod with stop 0x0000007B when the files are done loading.

any suggestions?
    (i have not tried to press F6, or configure any RAID options, i am a RAID noob so i thought i would just start out going plain jane IDE)

denass,

Did the mobo come with a RAID driver diskette? If not, then you should be able to make a diskette from the drivers CD that came with the mbob.