problem with Raid

edited June 2007 in Hardware
Hi Guy's, I'm new to this, so I apologise if i'm posting this in the wrong area, my problem is this, i'm running a server, SBS 2003, everything was working fine until one of the drives failed, I'm only using onboard Raid software, I replaced the new drive and it came up with the message that "Port 1 is in rebuilding State" and then a warning: Array(s) in Degraded Mode!!!.
Do you know how long it takes to rebuild the drive (WD Raptor ATA 74gig)? and was there something I needed to do to the drive first.
Any help would be grateful,

Cheers,
Macbachster :confused:

Comments

• trolltroll Windsor, Nova Scotia Icrontian
    edited June 2007
    Is this a BIOS message or a Windows message?

Usually all you have to is select the Rebuild Array option from either the BIOS menu or the Raid software, it will take quite a while and server performance will be slow if there are users on the system while it rebuilds...
  • edited June 2007
    troll wrote:
    Is this a BIOS message or a Windows message?

Usually all you have to is select the Rebuild Array option from either the BIOS menu or the Raid software, it will take quite a while and server performance will be slow if there are users on the system while it rebuilds...
  • edited June 2007
    Thanks for replying Troll,
    I can't get into the raid utility program, I think it is set to auto rebuild, so I don't know if anything is actualy happening, earlier when the drive started to go I was able to access the utility program that starts right at boot up time, I tried to do a rebuild then but the drive was stuffed, and the rebuild would fail each time, since I put in the new drive it just boots up and tells me that it's in a rebuild state, but it's been 2 days, it sounds like the drive is active but how long should it take?
    If I put a Raid card in now do you think I could start the pc and allow the rebuild to complete that way, I have only a day or so to get this running,