Help with my Website, im new at this

TrumandrummerTrumandrummer Taylor Michigan Icrontian
edited July 2007 in Internet & Media
Ok ive just created a Website for my band. Its pretty much the first website ive made. I payed for hosting at hostultra.com (obviously the first time ive used payed hosting) its a bit confuseing. The site is up... but i want to make an intro for it.

I don't know if ill make it a flash (seeing as im new at flash).
but even if i make it an image or whatever..... i have no clue how to set it up

I will have no problem making the image myself, because i love photoshop and im pretty good with it. but i dont know how to set up the page or where to put it.

On my hosting site, if i go to file manager, all my pages (index.html, media.html) are all in a folder called (public html).

My domain is www.closerenemies.com but i wanted to set it up to where you type in "www.closerenemies.com" and it takes you to the intro, but i dont really know how

can anyone help me please?:D:D:D:D:D:D

thanks a lot in advance,
Tsnare

Comments

• LincLinc Owner Detroit Icrontian
    edited July 2007
    OK, step one: rename "index.html" - I'll use "band.html" as an example. The name doesn't matter. Any links to "index.html" should be changed to "band.html".

Step two: Make a new index.html - this will be your splash page. When it's done, have it forward them to "band.html".

Personally, I recommend against a splash page. People generally find them annoying. At the very least, provide a way to skip it if it's an animation. If I can't find the "skip" link on a splash page, I just close the whole thing and move on.

If you need some more technical help with the finer points of making the actual splash page, I could point you in the right direction. If you're going to be doing a bunch with the site, I could recommend a couple books you might find very valuable. (I feel like one of those "Choose Your Own Adventure" books now... To DUEL the Bad Guy, turn to page 124.)