how do I read memtest?

edited July 2007 in Hardware
I made a bootable cd of memtest86 v1.7, popped it in and it ran for 2 hours, but I dont have a clue what i'm looking for, or what procedure is best.
I have 4 sticks of 512 ram. In two hours all I seen is 1 pass and 1,700,000+ errors. Top of screen is blue, bottom scrolling area is red.
Do I test with all my ram, or one stick at a time? I looked some sort of sticky for noobs, but i'm a noob so i didnt find one :)

Comments

• ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited July 2007
    You definitely have bad RAM. The red area indicates all the errors.

At this point, test each stick individually, and in each memory slot. So if you have 4 slots and two sticks, you'll need to test 8 times. Stick 1, slot a/b/c/d -> stick 2, slot a/b/c/d.

And then you'll know if you have good sticks and/or bad slots.
  • edited July 2007
    ah I just did all 4 sticks in slot one before getting your msg.
    stick #1- no errors
    stick #2- 35 errors in tests 5,6,7,8 combined
    stick #3- 80 errors in tests 3 and 6
    stick #4- 70,000+ errors in first two tests, I yanked it, why go on.
    edited July 2007
    Looks like you have 3 faulty sticks of RAM; am I reading that right?

Move stick one to the other slots and see if the slots are bad.
  • edited July 2007
    Yea, I read it as 3 sticks with errors. Now can I use any of them, or are they fubar reguardless of minimal amounts of errors?
    I guess if all four had been bad, it could have been someother hardware issue, am I assuming correctly?
    edited July 2007
    Whatever slot stick 1 was in was the only slot that did not report errors; I strongly suggest trying the three "Bad" sticks in that slot before you write all the memory off. It is very abnormal for three sticks to go bad simultaneously.

If they end up bad in that slot, they must be replaced, regardless of the quantity of errors.
  • edited July 2007