Please help... windows/system32/config/system error!

edited October 2007 in Hardware
Hi. i recently experienced the windows/system32/config/system error. It does not let me log on, do anything. I am not that experienced so guided help would be much appreciated. I do not have a Windows Xp startup disk (it came preinstalled), and I can not log on using safe mode. Please help me as soon as possible. I would greatly appreciate it if I can go back to the last good restore point, but that is not accessible.
Thank you.

Comments

• JokkeJokke Bergen, Norway Icrontian
    edited September 2007
    I'm not an expert, but I have seen other give this advice:

Put in your Xp-disc and do a repair install.
  • kryystkryyst Ontario, Canada
    edited September 2007
    Not to criticize your attempt to help Jokke, but in the initial post it said 'I don't have a windows XP disk'.

As for fixing that problem without the disk if your system came pre-installed from a certified vendor and not pre-installed from some friend or small shop with a hacked on copy of XP. You should have on your harddrive a recovery partition, or it possibly even came with recovery disks. They will have the tools to reinstall your system to the factory defaults. Unfortunately, that means exactly what it sounds like. They wipe your harddrive and return it to it's ship-to state.

Now Jokke, is pretty much right. Without a Windows XP disk you are basically screwed. But there may be some things we can do. However you would need access to another computer so that you can pull the harddrive out of your failed computer and connect it to the other machine. Then the first step is to backup all the data on it to that other computer.