Stumped!

edited November 2007 in Hardware
My computer recently stopped working. Heres a little history.
Old hard drive was making noise.
Bought new one and transferred all to new.
Installed new software for hdd. (this included a video converter.)
Video card crapped out.
Bought new card and installed.
At this point everything is working fine.
I decided to convert a avi file to Divx format using the above mentioned software.(from seagate)
It was taking an extremely long time.
I decide to let it take its course and let it run over night.
The next morning the screen was blue and blank.
Has never booted again.
Hangs at "Detecting Ide Drives ..."

course of actions
Tried to disconnect cd and dvd drives.(nada)
replaced ide cable.(nada)
tried to enter edit mode before going to detect ide drives. (hangs)
Swapped out the drive with the old one... same thing.
What to Do???
Im no expert but there seems to be a problem. I have been through many forums to no avail. Its seems that no one has had the exact problem that i am facing. Can some one help?

I cant find an exact replacement for my mobo. Its 4 years old. In human years thats ancient I guess. I have ordered one that I think will work but it has a different chipset. I dont think that matters at this point.

Help me please obi won your my only hope!

Comments

• RyderRyder Kalamazoo, Mi Icrontian
    edited November 2007
    First thing that comes to mind is ram.

1st question.. What motherboard, listing components would help.

Do you have a speaker connected or does the mobo have one on the board?
    If yes to above, remove all ram from the system, power up the PC, does the speaker beep its head off?
    If yes, cycle through all sticks of ram and see if 1 allows the system to boot properly.
    If that fails, clear the CMOS (see manual for jumper location) and again test each ram module.