Help overclocking amd x2 3600 brisbane

doomddoomd California
edited November 2007 in Hardware
Hello i need some help overclocking im new to this with cpu and ram can you help meh? ill give my comp specs

Computer
Computer Type ACPI x86-based PC
Operating System Microsoft Windows Vista Business
Motherboard
CPU Type DualCore AMD Athlon 64 X2, 1900 MHz (9.5 x 200) 3600+
Motherboard Name Unknown
Motherboard Chipset nVIDIA nForce 520, AMD Hammer
System Memory 2048 MB (DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM)
BIOS Type Award (04/04/07)
Display
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS (640 MB)

DMI
DMI BIOS Vendor Phoenix Technologies, LTD

Comments

• lemonlimelemonlime Canada Member
    edited November 2007
    Could you provide us with some more information on your system?

What motherboard/ram are you using? (brand/model). I'm assuming this is a custom system, not a Dell/HP etc?
  • doomddoomd California
    edited November 2007
    yes it is a custom my motherboard is a ABIT AN52 nForce 520
    edited November 2007
    Cool, you should be able to overclock with that AN52. I wrote an A64 overclocking guide a year or so ago. Its not updated for AM2, but I'd suggest you start there for some information:

http://icrontic.com/articles/a64_cpu_clock

Keep in mind that the memory information will all be DDR and not DDR2 relevant, so just follow the CPU overclocking section.
  • mmonninmmonnin Centreville, VA
    edited November 2007
    The memory part will be basically the same, just different timings. Some different options but the same concepts still apply.
  • doomddoomd California
    edited November 2007
    i am realy confused about this do i need to overclock my memory as in ram too?
    edited November 2007