Random restarts every few hours

thefadedlinethefadedline Manchester, England
edited January 2008 in Hardware
Hi all, I'm back with yet another problem.

Basically, every couple of hours, my computer restarts itself. It always seems to be at random and regardless of what I am running. It seems to happen more when left idle (whether programs are running or not), but has happened when in use (gaming, Cubase etc). I've run a few virus/spyware scans to no avail.

I'm a complete novice with computers so I have no idea what information would help any of you with my problem, but my specs are in my signature.

Thanks for any help in advance.

Matt.

Comments

• thefadedlinethefadedline Manchester, England
    edited January 2008
    I ran Memtest86+ and the results were 4 passes and 0 fails. I ended it after an hour and a half as I was told it would run forever otherwise, and even 1 pass is okay. I will try the hard drive test later on.

Thanks.
  • ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited January 2008
    Yep, so far your RAM is good! :) Let's hope the HDD is too.
    edited January 2008
    Hi Thrax.

I just tried to run the hard-drive test but it hangs when detecting my 'secondary master'. I left it for around 10 minutes and nothing happened, it just reads 'detecting secondary master'. Is something wrong, or am I just not doing something right?
  • ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited January 2008
    The program can sometimes be fussy. DOS just isn't a friendly environment these days, and some newer hardware just throws the program through a loop.

Alternatively you can try Seagate's Seatools DOS app, which has a full hard drive scan which accomplishes the same thing.
  • EssoEsso Stockholm, Sweden
    edited January 2008
  • edcentricedcentric near Milwaukee, Wisconsin Icrontian
    edited January 2008
    What do you have for a Power Supply?
    Are you connected through a UPS?
    edited January 2008
    Hi again.