New Sata WD750GB freezes POST on Gigabyte 7N400 Pro2 Rev.1

edited January 2008 in Hardware
Hi. Well the title really says most of it. I just purchased a Western Digital 750GB SATA drive from NewEgg and put it in my system. Now, I've been running XP on a 250GB Sata IBM/Hitachi drive for a couple of years now with no problems (it's on SATA0). I've got the BIOS settings to boot from SCSI and use the SATA controller as BASE. The Hitachi drive is 150mb/sec and the new WD drive is 300mb/sec, but my Gigabyte 7N400 Pro2 Rev.1 motherboard controller only supports the 150mb/sec spec.
The problem is this: When I attached the new WD drive to SATA1 and turned on the computer, the POST got as far as the SATA controller finding BOTH drives, but it halts there. On the left side of the screen are the names of both detected drives, and on the right side of the screen are where the drive size is displayed. Only my first SATA drive (the Hitachi) has a size displayed. There is a blinking vertical line cursor sitting where the size of the WD drive would be displayed. It just sits there and blinks forever.
Thinking the problem was due to the faster transfer speed of the WD drive, I placed a jumper on the 5-6 pins of the drive that the label indicate forces the 150 speed spec. This had no effect. Now after some searching online I am starting to believe my onboard controller has an incompatible BIOS for this drive. My motherboard BIOS is currently the latest (F11) for this board.
I have no other computers with SATA connections to test the drive to see if it is bad, so I can't just RMA it back to NewEgg without knowing first. I may end up purchasing a PCI card to run it on until I can rebuild my PC some day.

Any ideas would really be appreciated :smiles:

Comments

• Your-Amish-DaddyYour-Amish-Daddy The heart of Texas
    edited January 2008
    Drives can be ordered doa man.
  • kryystkryyst Ontario, Canada
    edited January 2008