Multiple SATA Drive instalation issues

edited March 2008 in Hardware
Hi all, question about some SATA drives. I recently purchased a 500GB SATA2 drive to replace my old 80 gig IDE boot drive. I have 4 other SATA drives in the system already, two 500gb and two 300gb all holding movies/games/music etc etc. I formatted one of my 300GB drives to become the boot drive, and use the 500 for storage. This is my problem. I am having issues getting an OS onto the drive. First off when i tried to install the new drive with all the others plugged in WinXP was moaing about not having a valid Xp partition, so i created one, still didnt like it. I have done this with and wihtout a floppy with the drivers on there.

Then i unplugged all the drives except the 300 i want for an OS and proceeded to install windows. All went well, I plug the other 4 drives in, and I get a boot disc fail error. Remove the other 4 drives to test, and same error. Im kinda stumped now. This is my first time installing an OS to an SATA drive, and im runing out of ideas. Is there something im missing? Are sata cables picky about the boot drive being in SATA 1 on the mainboard?

My Board is an Asus P5NE-SLI, 4 onbard SATA controllers, and one of the drives is installed on a PCI SATA card, that drive incidentally hasnt shown up yet in the Bios or Windows setup, but im not really expecting it to untill windows is on there and drivers isntalled......(I Hope) But i need an OS first.

Any sugestions on how to get an install on there with all my SATA drives recognised? OR any trouble shooting tips you could suggest? Would be much aprpeciated.

ive tried plugging back my IDE drive to format the new drive and the old 300 drive hoping that would partition it for me to install an OS on, no such luck, and I have tried Partition Magic on there, to no avail.

Sys Spec
Asus P5NE-SLI
Core 2 Duo Processor
2 GB OCZ memory
2x500GB Seagate SATA Drives
2x300GB MAxtor SATA Drives
1x500GB WD Drive
IDE Dual Layer DVD Burner