RAID N00b needs help!

edited May 2008 in Hardware
Hi all,

I have no experience with RAIDs at all, but I bought a couple of Raptor X drives and I want to make a RAID0 and install Vista 64 bit on them...

I have an ASUS P5K deluxe WiFi AP mobo and a Q6600 CPU

I installed the drives and set the RAID options in the BIOS according to the manual, I was able to enter the RAID setup (ICH9R controller) and create the RAID and both disks showed as members and the RAID was the correct size.

I went through the Vista setup and everything went fine until it got to stage 2, the actual installation. This screen says 'Copying Files' at the top, but the percentage figure next to it just stays at 0% permanetly and the DVD drive stops reading. The install doesn;t crash because the dots next to the percentage sign keep appearing, but nothing happens.

Vista has a built in ICH9R driver, but I did try the latest driver from the ASUS site anyways and it said an updated driver was neded (I think because the driver meant for XP rather than because I actually need a newer driver)

Does this sound like a problem with the drivers as in actual hardware failure, or does this sound like more of a config issue?

Any help would be massively appreciated.

Comments

• kryystkryyst Ontario, Canada
    edited April 2008
    My only help for you, and I'm not trying to be a smart ass, is this - "Don't run Raid 0" - "Don't bother with Raid at all" and lastly "Never run raid off a built in Raid Controller"

You are really only asking for future problems.
  • edited April 2008
    kryyst wrote:
    My only help for you, and I'm not trying to be a smart ass, is this - "Don't run Raid 0" - "Don't bother with Raid at all" and lastly "Never run raid off a built in Raid Controller"

You are really only asking for future problems.

lol, well thanks for the tips but...