Computer rebooting problem, scared to turn my PC off now.

edited May 2008 in Hardware
This is my first time posting on these forums but it's the first thing I found to turn to. I recently installed a program to help speed up gaming and I'm worrying it is the culprit to my problem. (It could be coincidental though I suppose.) The program is called GameBoost. After installing it, and using it for the first time, it prompted me to restart my computer, which I clicked okay for it to go ahead and restart. The problem was, it didn't restart. It started to, but after getting to the Windows XP logo my computer turned itself back off. I tried turning it back on, the same thing happened. I went through a series of things trying to get it to turn back on. I unplugged the power, plugged it back in, turned the power switch on the back of the PC on and off, unplugged my keyboard, mouse, speakers, internet, basically everything out of the back of the PC except for the power cord and the monitor, but each time I did something new it would just get to the Windows XP logo and turn back off. I plugged everything back in, and just tried turning it on like 30 times. A couple of the times it would bring up the screen letting me choose whether or not to enter safe mode, or start windows normal, or revert back to the settings that last worked. I tried every one of those options and always got the same result. At one point I saw the welcome screen and my mouse come up briefly but it turned right back off. Eventually out of frustration I opened up the case to the PC although I hadn't a clue of what I was looking at once I was inside. I dug some dust out of the PC, and decided to try one last time with the case off and propped up really close next to it (because there's wires connecting the two). It turned on! I immediately searched for any known problems with GameBoost to cause this but I couldn't find any weird problems like this. Now I'm just scared to turn my PC off, that it will start h