Git for websites

LincLinc OwnerDetroit Icrontian
edited January 2009 in Internet & Media
I had an outstandingly frustrating experience trying to figure out Git with Eli's (pragtastic) help this weekend. I'm a web developer, not a web server admin, and all the documentation / guides seem to assume that A) you are a linux nerd and B) you already understand version control and/or have used Subversion. I previously spent days trying to set up Subversion on my own and failed in that endeavour as well.

This morning though, Eli sent me a link that may turn the whole thing around: http://joemaller.com/2008/11/25/a-web-focused-git-workflow/

That one looks like it actually makes sense! So now I'll recount how I actually got Git installed on our servers and my Windows box in the hope that one day someone will be saved days of :banghead:

Installing on CentOS 5:
Create these files: http://danielinsley.com/entries/general/installing-git-on-centos-4-6
yum install subversion-perl
(pre-req: http://www.centos.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?forum=18&topic_id=5651&viewmode=flat)
$ yum --enablerepo=dag --enablerepo=atrpms install git

Installing on Red Hat Enterprise 4:
use wget: https://rails.wincent.com/wiki/Installing_Git_1.5.2.3_on_Red_Hat_Enterprise_Linux

Installing client on Windows:
Get msysgit and use the bash: http://code.google.com/p/msysgit/downloads/list

Then, finally, use the Joe Maller guide to actually set up your repositories (and understand how the whole thing works).

I still haven't followed the guide myself, but I have high hopes seeing as how I actually understood that guide and wasn't left scratching my head and doing more Google searches when I was done. :werr:

Comments

• ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited January 2009
    You should've called me. I could've got you up and running with SVN in about 2 hours.
  • LincLinc Owner Detroit Icrontian
    edited January 2009