Compatible PSU for gtx 280?

Miss_AlefMiss_Alef South Dakota
edited June 2009 in Hardware
I just got a studio xps. I picked their cheapest video card because I planned on buying a gtx 280 later. The power supply that came with the studio xps is only 350W, on top of which, I do not believe it has the correct connectors for a gtx 280. I have spent about 4 hours looking for a power supply with the dimensions 150mm x 140mm x 86mm, because the chasis is too small to have anything else. I am fairly new to computer components, so I have not been able to find what I think I need. Any help will be appreciated.

Comments

• BuddyJBuddyJ Dept. of Propaganda OKC Icrontian
    edited January 2009
    This 500W model might work.

It's either that, or you'll need a separate VGA power supply to run the card, provided you can find a way to fit it in the case. Do you have two empty bays for it?

You're fighting an up hill battle.
  • GnomeWizarddGnomeWizardd Member 4 Life Akron, PA Icrontian
    edited January 2009
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341012

Id recommend a OCZ atleast of this wattage
    edited January 2009
    Gnome, unless I'm mistaken, that PSU wont work. Dells need Dell-spec PSUs.
  • RyderRyder Kalamazoo, Mi Icrontian
    edited January 2009
    Not so much the Dell spec.. just that you need the dimensions.

Dell did quit using proprietary connectors finally.
  • Miss_AlefMiss_Alef South Dakota
    edited January 2009