OS and what they do best

NemikanNemikan Icrontian
edited April 2009 in Science & Tech
I have yet to actively use a Mac. I normally am using windows (primarily because I play games and linux hasn't been the greatest for that) and have used linux fairly often at school for the majority of my lab assignments. This being said, my question is as follows: What makes macs so great compared to the other OS (if it is so great) as I am seeing more and more people switch over to macs. At my college I'd wager that within the computer science department, approximately 2/6th are using macs, 3/6th linux, and 1/6th windows. I am not a complete noob (well others may argue otherwise..*cough bindle cough* but to me heres my "list" of each OS and its pros / cons:

*note formatting was messy on this, sry for the crappy looking bullets*
  • Windows:
  • pros: Compatibility, "standard", biggest selection of software, gui based, has visual studio meaning all Microsoft programming languages compatibility (not that i like visual studio that much)
  • cons: stability, some restrictions in managing, proprietary
  • Linux:
  • pros: open source, complete control of the OS, can literally do anything the OS is functionally able to do, don't need a mouse
  • cons: compatibility, management takes a great deal of time, memorization of text commands
  • Mac:
  • pros: aesthetically pleasing, own style, some high quality built in programs (ie: garage band), ui allows quick navigation, stable
  • cons: proprietary, compatibility, slightly different keyboard

Please add to the list and aid me and others in understanding better the primary differences w/ pros and cons between each OS.

Comments

• UPSLynxUPSLynx :KAPPA: Redwood City, CA Icrontian
    edited April 2009