HTPC ideas wanted!

lordbeanlordbean Ontario, Canada
edited October 2009 in Hardware
So I've been thinking about an HTPC. Most of my media is digital, and currently stored on a 1TB external HD. Rather than hooking it up to a laptop and then the laptop to my TV, an HTPC makes a lot of sense. Since I've never built one before, I don't exactly know how to approach it.

The recently released/reviewed Athlon II x4 chip looks excellent for this project, so I'd like the build to be based on it. Apart from that, I don't know where I'm going. I could use suggestions on motherboards, cases, cooling setups, etc.

Comments

• primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian
    edited October 2009
    I can highly recommend the same motherboard we used for the review: The Gigabyte MA785GPMT-UD2H

Pair that Athlon II X4 with a 785G chipset, and watch the thing fly though basically everything you throw at it.

Western Digital has a line of hard drives specifically for HTPCs called AV-GP, which have enhanced cooling, low power operation, and are designed for longevity in HTPC environments; the plus side is that with a reliable drive like this (at 2tb), you have suddenly gained not only an HTPC, but a home media/file server or a backup repository, etc.
  • ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited October 2009
    To get the most complete HTPC available, you should add a Radeon HD 5750 for audio bitstreaming. You also need a tuner with CableCard support, QAM and ATSC tuning.
  • edited October 2009
    With the addition of HD 5750, you get some serious gaming capacity too. Why not? Think about a bluetooth keyboard with integrated touchpad as well, something like this (it works with PC).
  • edited October 2009