The purpose of life and the pursuit of happiness

karmicRetributekarmicRetribute Aghadrumsee, Fermanagh, Ireland!!!!
edited November 2009 in Lifestyle
Hello, I'm new to icrontic and not totally sure if I'm posting this in the correct place, however it's about life and this is the Life section so i suppose I am.:rolleyes:

I have a theory I would like to subject to you all, and would appreciate your comments wether they be in agreement or total unrelenting disagreement with me.

This is my theory on the purpose of life:

Now, first I must say that I am an Atheist and obviously this will have a dramatic effect on my theory. I believe that we serve a totally biological purpose and like all creatures our only aim is to reproduce, however as humans blessed with exceptionial intelligence we have a little thing called self-awareness. Now I believe that this gives us the ability to question our purpose, and if we find it irrelevant or pointless we can of course then choose our own direction. This self-awareness means that life has no set purpose but only the purpose you set for yourself. Now I know that may seem like cyclical logic but it's not. ;D

What do we choose then? Well from and idealistic viewpoint I would suggest we choose what makes us happy, but to suggest that would be to present another question. For if we choose a purpose for the sole reason that it will make us happy we therefore assume that happiness is infinite if a purpose is fulfilled which as I'm sure we all know is just down-right untrue.

Here is were I present to you my theory on (infinite)happiness:

In my opinion happiness or excitement come from the exploration of the unknown, be the unknown feelings, places, cultures, activities etc. We are only truly experiencing intense emotion during times such as these. So, if we make our purpose to explore the unknown, does this in itself bring infinite happiness due to the fact that the unknown as a general compilation is infinite?