Help!!! <- Please :)

edited May 2006 in Hardware
Right, I really f***ed up an need help, Im new at all this pc stuff so this was kinda stupid, Anyways..
I was wondering thru bios when i went into the pcu options and changed a speed from 133 to 166 ( I think thats what i have done)
Anyways, I exited an stupidly saved (i was in a rush)
then pc rebooted no it wont start at all, well the pc is running but with no signs of life. please help any info needed i can give any help would be great
inzY.

Comments

• leishi85leishi85 Grand Rapids, MI Icrontian
    edited January 2004
    so you mean it does not POST???
    open up your case, and look into your motherboards manual, anmd find the reset CMOS jumper, and then you should beable to start your PC again.
  • edited January 2004
    I have an old PC (the one im on)

I been reading about changing a jumper an it will flash the bios rite?
    which will erase anything in the bios?

thx for your time
    edited January 2004
    it will not FLASH teh bios, it will reset the settings, which one of those you changed to cause the PC not able to POST, after you reset the CMOS, your bios setting will change back to default fail safe setting which will let you psot again.
  • profdlpprofdlp The Holy City Of Westlake, Ohio
    edited January 2004
    Listen to leishi. To expand on his idea:

1) You changed a setting to something your hardware can't handle.

2) Resetting the bios with the jumper will automatically change everything back to very safe (low speed) settings. This will let your computer boot.

3) Once it's running again, you will need to go back into the bios and change some of the settings. Things like date & time. Then, get a clear idea of what your hardware can handle (we can probably help you there) so you can boost the other settings to their optimum point.

Good Luck :wave:
  • edcentricedcentric near Milwaukee, Wisconsin Icrontian
    edited January 2004
    turn everything off and unplug it first.