Memory confussion

rassjrsjrrassjrsjr Mpls, Mn
edited February 2010 in Hardware
:confused: Hi, I'm totally confused and lost trying to set up my system for my memory :confused: I have a asus P5Q pro turbo mobo, Q9550 CPU, I installed 4 Kingston KHX8500D2/2gr Thinking this was going to be a plug and play type deal, Well i found out this is no true. To say the lest, I'm totally lost with setting the bios to get the 1066 out of these. I have read the mobo user guide a dozen times and have to say I'm just plain lost. I must also admit I'm a little worried I'll damage my system by not knowing what I'm doing. I'm a retired/disabled vet. and put this setup together as a dream project, And always wanted a hi end system. And for the most part had a great time doing so. I've learned more about computers in the last year then in my entire life. BUT I NEED HELP Is there any one that would be willing to give a old guy a hand with my problem before my gray hair gets grayer :) Thanks John R

Comments

• adarryladarryl No Man Stands So Tall As When He Stoops To Help a Child. Icrontian
    edited February 2010
    To get your RAM running at 1066, you need to make the settings changes in the BIOS listed in Kingston's Memory Module spec sheet, go here: http://www.valueram.com/datasheets/KHX8500D2_2G.pdf