OCing a VAIO PCG FX401 AMD Duron 800

edited April 2010 in Hardware
Hi,

I'm quite new at customizing computers and for a first try I'm trying to push my old (bought in 2001) laptop VAIO PCG FX401 to its limits. For the hardware, I'm still waiting for the 512MB RAM I bought but meanwhile, I would like to overlock the AMD Duron 800 and possibly the ATI Rage Mobility P/M AGP.

I'm aware that since it's a laptop I won't be able to overclock it that much but still I would like to see how much I can safely do and then I prefer to start with this laptop rather than with a new PC or laptop.

Anyway here's my problem, I'm using RM CPU Clock utility and Systool but they can't recognize my Motherboard and I don't know whether I can do something about it or if there's maybe another software I can use...So is there anybody who is used to overclock old PCs/LTs and knows how to fix this problem?

Many thanks

Comments

• ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited April 2010
    I hate to make a post that's so brusque and to the point, but: this laptop cannot be overclocked.

Welcome to Icrontic, though.
  • edited April 2010
    Well, that could explain a lot of things. But could you maybe tell me why, so that I know for the next time. I read quite a lot of stories and watch some videos on youtube of people who overclocked an AMD Duron 800 so is it because it's a laptop? Because of a lousy cooling system? Or is it the motherboard? I was not expecting to overclock it to 1.5ghz, only to overclock it a little so that I can understand the process.

And thank you
  • RyderRyder Kalamazoo, Mi Icrontian
    edited April 2010
    Yes to all of the above.

Inadequate cooling to remove the heat from the overclock.

The bios of the board does not support the tweaks and adjustments necessary to actually perform the overclock.
    Most of what you read will have been done on Desktop boards with bios file specifically opened up to allow overclocking.