Easy, Inexpensive, & "Realistic" PSU Testing

jedihobbitjedihobbit Central Virginia, USA New
edited July 2010 in Hardware
Greetings y'all! Looking for suggestions for a decent methodology for testing power supplies that covers most if not all of the "important" stuff. I've tripped across some interesting units with nice specs that I would like to "punish" to see if they are "worth it". However not wanting to purchase aftermarket testing equipment.

First thing that comes to mind is that OCCT I believe offers a PSU testing section, but have never used it. Any others out there that will stress and allow for current measurement? :confused:

Comments

• PirateNinjaPirateNinja Icrontian
    edited July 2010
    Back in the day when I worked in a shop we just used a hardware tester that had LED indicators. It's a binary test, but our purpose wasn't to benchmark it was to replace or not replace. It sounds like you want to stress test or benchmark, I think the best way to do that is with a cpu/gpu intensive benchmark.

My understanding was that most software based tools don't provide reliable data when it comes to power supply info because the are basing the results on readouts from sensors on the parts drawing the voltage. I of course could be wrong.

What is your overall goal? Do you just wan a recommendation on a good PS? Are you looking for a solid one for consistent system builds?
  • drasnordrasnor Starship Operator Hawthorne, CA Icrontian
    edited July 2010