RAID 5 on multiple controllers

edited July 2010 in Hardware
Hi all, I have been using a software raids for several years mostly due to inexperience with configuring and managing hardware raids. I am a little more comfortable with hardware raids now but still have some questions regarding setup/configuration. I have 6 drives, 2tb each. I have 2 4-port sata controllers. Is it possible for me to set the 6 disks up in a single raid 5 array even though they are on 2 different controllers?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• RootWyrmRootWyrm Icrontian
    edited July 2010
    Not with modern controllers, no. You can do a software RAID, sure. I wouldn't recommend a RAID5 for a 6x2TB configuration though; I'd recommend RAID6. It's going to offer you the best mix of resilience and speed. RAID5 generally performs poorly with even number disk configurations (4, 6, 8, etc.)
  • ardichokeardichoke Icrontian
    edited July 2010
    I disagree with RootWyrm. I strongly suggest against doing software RAID5 or RAID6. You're going to take a huge performance hit with either due to parity calculations which must be done by the CPU as opposed to a specialized hardware RAID card. Further, I've never seen credible evidence suggesting that RAID5 takes a performance hit on even numbers of disks. That doesn't make any sense from a theory standpoint and it doesn't stand up to what I've seen in the field either. If anything, RAID6 will always perform slightly worse than RAID5 because it needs to calculate an extra set of parity bits every time it writes to the disk. Of course 6 does give you the ability to recover from the loss of 2 disks instead of just 1 which can be nice.