RAID1 setup help - Biostar MCP6P M2+

schlitzschlitz Milwaukee, WI
edited August 2010 in Hardware
please excuse my raid newbie-ness, but i'm at a loss here. i've built plenty of computers before, but this is my first time attempting to set up a raid array. i have built-in raid on my board, biostar MCP6P M2+ (phoenix-award bios), and i'm just looking to set up two identical 500g SATA drives in a raid1 array for redundant storage. i have a third 120g SATA drive with my OS on it (XPpro). the machine boots and runs windows just fine with raid disabled on the board, but as soon as i enable it i lose the ability to boot from my third drive. it seems to be forcing me to boot from the array, and my third drive is not even a boot option once raid is enabled on the board. if i go back and disable raid, the third drive once again shows up as the preferred boot drive. biostar's documentation is pure crap...the manual tells me all about raid, but not a single morsel of info on HOW TO SET IT UP!! wtf?? one other thing to note, i DO NOT see a raid controller listed under device manager...am i missing something? with raid enabled on the board, if i go into raid setup, it seems to properly display the array and says it is healthy...i just can't seem to boot from my third drive no matter what settings i try.

anyone have this same board? anyone successfully set up raid1 on this board? what am i missing? anyone? anyone? bueller?

thanks in advance!

Comments

• RyderRyder Kalamazoo, Mi Icrontian
    edited August 2010
    If your 3rd drive had Windows installed on it in IDE (non RAID) mode, then this will not ever work.

You need to enable Raid and create any arrays you want. If you want Windows on a non Raid drive, then it needs to be a "non member" of any array, just leave it connected. Then you have to install Windows on this drive, but while the controller is in Raid mode (thus you need to probably use a USB Stick with the driver on it during install).