The Thermaltake Meka G1 mechanical gaming keyboard

Comments

• BuddyJBuddyJ Dept. of Propaganda OKC Icrontian
    edited July 2011
    You had me until the price. I'm honestly surprised Tt would be on the expensive side of the market. Usually they're cheap. For what they're asking, I'll just get a Das Keyboard.
  • primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian
    edited July 2011
    I have one too, and I'll give my mini-review:

The first two days I had it, it pissed me off because the key travel and distance was so different from my Logitech G15. To be fair, I've been typing on the same keyboard for like five years, but I've never had this much trouble getting used to a keyboard. I got used to the keyboard on my HP laptop in about half a day, for example.

After I got used to it, it started to grow on me. I'm still not entirely thrilled with the feel, but I think I'm getting over it.

One thing that I cannot stand and that I cannot get over is the lack of a Windows key on the left side. Where the Windows key would normally be, there is a Fn key. I use muscle memory to Win+D and Win+L and even though I've been using the Meka for two weeks or so, I cannot stop hitting Fn+D and Fn+L before I realize nothing is working.

This keyboard is good, but it is definitely overpriced. I'd be happy to pay up to $70 for this keyboard, as the build quality is phenomenal. It's built like a tank. However, anything more than that is just too much, at least in my opinion.
  • TimTim Southwest PA Icrontian
    edited July 2011
    I've been using the same Dell PS/2 keyboard since December 2001. 4 years of WoW, 1 year of Starcraft 2, miscellaneous other games, and a lot of typing on forums, telling people why they are wrong.:) It still works fine, but I think I'd like a true mechanical keyboard. But not this one for this price!
  • NiGHTSNiGHTS San Diego Icrontian
    edited July 2011
    We get it. You use and take pride in using old stuff. The shtick is old.