Mic not loud enough

CBCB Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄ƷDer Millionendorf- Icrontian
edited September 2011 in Hardware
So I have this one USB studio mic that I've been using on my desk for a few years, but I got sick of always having to lean forward when using it, since my skype gaming sessions might last for hours.

I got a new headset, and the mic wouldn't pick up, so I traded it in for another. I've now gone through 9 headsets, and the only one that my friends could hear me with was a USB headset, which they tell me makes an intolerable amount of static.

With that many head sets not working properly (I've gone through all the trouble shooting steps I can find on the googles, of course), I'm starting to think it's my PC, not the headsets (well, I started to think that with the second one, but I thought maybe more expensive headsets might have better mics or amps in them).

What can I do here? Do I need to get an in-line amp forthe mic, would that even sound good? Should I get a sound card? I haven't had a daughter board sound device in years, but if that would help...

Any other thoughts?

Comments

• ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited September 2011
    Ever tried enabling mic boost?
  • CBCB Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ Der Millionendorf- Icrontian
    edited September 2011
    Yes, I tried all that Windows can do to help.
  • primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian
    edited September 2011
    I've never heard of someone having so much trouble with mics. It may very well be your on-board sound, and then the one USB headset you got (which sounds fantastic other than the static) may have been just an unlucky fluke defective.

I'd say either get a sound card or another USB headset. Bypass the on-board sound.
    edited September 2011
    For now, I'm returning two more standard (3.5mm) headsets and ordering another one of the one that worked great other than the static as well as another different USB headset to try out.