[BLOG] Working freelance isn't always a bed of roses

UPSLynxUPSLynx :KAPPA:Redwood City, CA Icrontian
edited November -1 in Community
I do freelance web development outside of my TV station job for extra income and experience. I graduated college with a BA in web development, and since my current part-time job has no dev-related work at all, freelance work keeps my abilities sharp while building a portfolio. I've been doing this for a little over three years now.

Anyone who's ever worked freelance knows of the ups and downs of working for clients. This blog will unfortunately not be about the 'ups', but rather the annoying and frustrating 'downs'.

A year and a half ago I landed a gig with a company that will remain nameless. This company is owned by the father of a friend of mine. My friend approached me about the gig with the usual cry for help. His dad's business really needs a new website, you do web work right? Come help us.

I was glad to oblige. Extra cash and a new site to put in my portfolio. How could I refuse.

I sat down with 'boss' to discuss the gig. Looked at his current site, evaluated it, asked what he'd like to see in his site, told him my opinions on development, gave an estimate on time, and finally discussed payment.

This site was a MESS. One of the worst I had ever seen. Their current site at that time was developed in PageMaker AND Front Page (this is me CRINGING), and it was in it's third generation, it had been rebuilt upon itself three times in a WYSIWYG editor.

I've never seen messier code. Terrible WYSIWYG code formatting aside, there was useless old code from versions one and two still lying amuck. The amount of garbage clogging the system was staggering. There was no fixing this site. It was time to start fresh.