[BLOG] 2009 SCCA National Championships - The Return of The Luck

pseudonympseudonym Michigan Icrontian
edited November -1 in Community
Since I've never been any good at informing people how my racing is going, I figured that I would blog this years National Championship races! Since this is the first post in the series, a little background is most likely needed for some so bear with me.

I've been racing since I was 17 years old in the SCCA (Sports Car Club of America). The SCCA is a sanctioning body much like IRL sanctions Indy Cars, only SCCA is geared towards the amateur racer. My dream has always been to be a professional race car driver, and SCCA racing has been one of my stepping stones towards that goal.

I've always wanted to drive open-wheel cars such as Indy Cars or Formula 1, and to that end I have been driving lower level open wheel cars in SCCA. I started in Formula 500, then went to Formula 2000, and am currently driving Formula E this year.

My career has had its ups and downs like most, but so far the highlight has been winning the Formula 500 National Championship in 2007 (Some of you may have seen this http://icrontic.com/forum/showthread.php?t=66383). I ran 7 races that season and was on the pole 6 times, set 7 fastest laps (4 of them were track records), won every race, and led every lap of every race. I also won the Chicago Region Triple Crown and Detroit Region's Driver of the Year award. Lets just say that was a good season.

In 2008 I gave pro racing a try and due to some budget issues things didn't go so hot, so I'm back running SCCA amateur racing, and going for another National Championship in the Formula E class.

The current car is a winged car powered by a 2.3L Mazda motor with about 180hp.

cue Monty Python GET ON WITH IT.