Hardware regrets

RahnalH102RahnalH102 the Green Devout, Veteran Monster Hunter, Creature EnthusiastNew Mexico Icrontian
edited February 2012 in Hardware
I have (mostly) finished doing a rather unnecessarily intensive upgrade to my computer. Namely upgrading to Windows 7 64-bit from a Vista 32-bit. Despite the bit change, this upgrade, in theory, should have probably been finished Saturday morning since I started Friday morning. Well 3 days later. I've learned quite a bit. I'm a hobbyist Techie so I'm not ashamed to say I that could have done a heck of a lot better.

For instance:
Asking around the wonderful land of Icrontic, on how our various members/professionals/far-more-experienced individuals would have done the deed.
Quadruple check my backups and what I backed up ... and then check again. (Almost lost $100 worth of freshly bought software. *facepalm*)
Would have paid attention to where my Skyrim save was. 90 hours potentially gone.
Overall I'm just glad I completed it without blowing up my computer. Especially since most of my classes require this thing.

"If you're not making mistakes, you're not learning anything."

So what retrospective do you have on past endeavors of yours? Would you have not eaten that porkchop? Learned more about RAM limits before spending $$$ on hardware you can't even use? Been more aware of what images you were linking in a warmup to League o' Legends? Taken the right turn at Albuquerque?

Side question: Do regets = or =/= retrospective?

Comments

• I hate the cliche "live without regrets" normally inked on some 19 year old girls tattoo that does not know any better.

regret + change = improvement

• CantiCanti =/= smalltime http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y9K18CGEeiI&feature=related Icrontian
    I should not have eaten the mushrooms on the lunch buffet when I was working at New China.

On a similar note: DO NOT EAT THE MUSHROOMS ON THE LUNCH BUFFET AT NEW CHINA.