Acer 1410 Notebook Stuck In BootUp Mode

edited April 2012 in Science & Tech
A friend gave me a Acer 1410 Notebook because it won't boot up, it's stuck in a loop that goes from "Setup is starting services" to reboot...rinse/repeat. Most commonly is this message: "The computer restarted unexpectedly or encountered an unexpected error. Windows installation cannot proceed to install windows, click OK to restart the computer and then restart the installation."

I managed to get it to where I can try to boot it in Safe Mode but when I do I get this: "Windows cannot complete installation in Safe Mode. To continue installing Windows, restart the computer."

Eventually it shuts itself off which makes me wonder if there's a hardware issue instead of or in addition to this problem with Windows & trying to get it to boot.

I'm no techie so please, if anyone replies, speak to me like the novice I am, lol. I can do a few things like get into settings. I did reset them to default but this didn't seem to matter.

Thanks in advance for any help. ~Xen

Sticker on bottom says:

Acer 1410 Notebook
W7 Home Premium OA
Acer Group

Comments

• TushonTushon I'm scared, Coach Alexandria, VA Icrontian
    Follow if you can, ask questions where you can't:
    1) go into BIOS and reset to "optimized defaults" if present
    2) On another PC, download this ISO file, this program (instructions), and use a 4GB+ thumb drive to create a bootable Win7 install.
    3) Insert the USB in to the netbook