MS Server 2008 deleting (really deleting) old share names

HW_HackHW_Hack North of Kalifornia
edited May 2012 in Nerdery
I've been fiddling around on setting up some shares for different groups, and in then blowing away the shares. But it seems that even though I deleted the shares, those old share names are still retained somewhere in the system. I can make new folders with the same name(s) I used before but the old share names are not available.

Example - I create a folder called science - I go to share the folder and the name the system suggests is science~. In my earlier tests I did create a folder called science and shared it with a share name of science. I deleted all of that but now if I try to change the science~ to just science (with no tilda) I'm told that share name already exists. So somewhere there must be a file of old share names that is not being cleared.

Any help would be appreceated

Comments

  • TushonTushon I'm scared, Coach Alexandria, VA Icrontian
    Are you using vanilla MS Server 2008 or a variant like SBS? How are you creating the shares?
  • CycloniteCyclonite Tampa, Florida Icrontian
    If you want to check existing shares out there, go to Administrative Tools > Computer Management. Expand Shared Folders > Shares. It'll show you existing shares and there mapped locations.
Sign In or Register to comment.