Looking for feedback on a Dell UltraSharp U2412M...

ledbetterledbetter Chattanooga, TN
edited June 2012 in Hardware
I'm about to purchase this monitor, but I have no experience with IPS panels. The only con I see is the 8ms response time, and since this will be used for gaming, I'm not sure what kind of impact this will have. Any owners with first hand knowledge would be greatly appreciated.

Also, is there is an alternative in the $300 price range? The 24" and 16x10 AR are preferable, but no deal-breaker.

Thanks all!

Comments

• Straight_ManStraight_Man Geeky, in my own way Naples, FL Icrontian
    Well, one reviewer in England has noted that with high-speed motion one can notice lag in refreshing with that monitor-- meaning you get ghost of old image and part of new image at same time for about 25 ms.

It is possible that has been eliminated in production since that review, and @fatcat bought three of those for a friend and fatcat is a gamer, and the monitors are for a gamer-to-be. Fatcat said he likes them.

I do not have that model to tell you what I think about it first hand. Depends partly upon where in the world you are, how old a production-aged U2412M you might get. US will get recent production, for the most part. Newegg now has close to the best price.
  • ledbetterledbetter Chattanooga, TN
    Most reviews are great but they seem to vary from no ghosting to somewhat distracting. I'm on my PC quite a bit, so if it's at all an issue, I'll go with something else. Plus, I trust user comments here over newegg any day.
  • fatcatfatcat Mizzou Icrontian
    There is no ghosting (I play Mass Effect 3, Diablo 3, Guild Wars 2, etc) on mine.

You WILL need to adjust the settings. I can give you mine if you like. It is WAY too bright out of the box.

The HP ZR24w is a similar model/price. When I researched the Dell, the most common advantage over the HP was the Dell ran much cooler and had better blacks.