Advice on new video card

pigflipperpigflipper The Forgotten Coast Icrontian
So the XFX 5850 I have been using for a few years now has finally started to die, or rather, the stock cooler is pretty much shot; the bearing is shot and the fan makes an awful racket above 30% power and is extremely hot to the touch. I am going to take this as a sign to get a new card, as I need a bit more juice in this system but cannot afford to do a complete rebuild right now.

Looking for an AMD or Nvidia card in the $150-$200 range that would be a good replacement for this old 5850.

Current system specs:

Phenom II X4 945
8gigs ram
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H (890 GX chipset; onboard video that is ok for posting this, but not much else)
850W Antec PSU

Comments

• Just in case you decide you want to fix the old one, you can take the sticker off the fan, put a drop of 3-1 oil in the bearing, reseal the sticker, and call it a day.
  • pigflipperpigflipper The Forgotten Coast Icrontian
    @PirateNinja Already went that route a few weeks ago and its right back to it, I think moving across the country twice, various LAN trips and the age of the card are finally kicking in...right as comcast fixes our internet and I have a day off work, just my luck.
  • Don't the XFX cards have a lifetime warranty?

For around $200 I'd say 7870 Ghz edition, love you long time.
  • ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    7870 GHz Edition will indeed blow that 5850 away, and if you read around on some reviews, you can find some that'll overclock so high they'll blow a 7950 away.
    Is the 7870 Ghz a larger card than the 5850? I have about 1.5" to spare in the case with the 5850 so anything larger than that would be a no go.
  • The 5850 was a long card. Any 7870 should not be longer.
    7870 is microscopic by comparison. Several inches shorter.
  • NullenVoydNullenVoyd Orlandish Icrontian