NAS Build or Off-the-shelf

doabarrellrolldoabarrellroll San Jose, CA Icrontian

I've been using the same NAS for about 3 years now, SmartStor 4300N running RAID10 with about 3TB of space. This thing is ancient in perspective and the drives are really starting to get old (from 09').

My thought here is get a new storage array with space for 8 hot-swappable drives. I'd start with 1 WD red 6TB drive and add to it progressively. Ideally, this system would scale for the next 5-10 years and continue to be my media server at home. At some point it would probably increase to 25TB or so. I'm thinking of running Windows Storage Server on it. It's an OS that comes standard on Lacie systems and is a very nice full windows install for a NAS unit.

The current off-the-shelf options are on the expensive side for this size, starting at $800+ for diskless systems. As an alternative, I'm looking at building a Mini-ITX system inside a U-NAS enclosure. For about $600, I've spec'd out a mini-itx mobo, i3 dual-core proc, 8 GB ram, and a ps including the cost of an 8-bay enclosure. Ironically, it's about 5 times the performance of the old AMD box I have running now.

Anybody recently buy and/or build a NAS and liked their results?

Comments

• TushonTushon I'm scared, Coach Alexandria, VA Icrontian

@Annes‌ bought a NAS and could provide feedback about that experience. I think the key to setting it up yourself is to ensure whatever OS you end up with is compatible with a good underlying file system so you can expand and still have whatever backup scheme you want. I know several people around here have gone with a ZFS setup and could probably provide some feedback there. My personal media/file server has zero backup because I don't have anything with permanency requirements, so I can't really provide advice there.

• shwaipshwaip bluffin' with my muffin Icrontian

I've built one and can comment when I get a chance. If I haven't posted in the next few days send me a PM or @ me here