Galaxy Glacier 6800GT heat problem

edited October 2004 in Hardware
Hello. I'm just wondering if anyone has had the same problem as me or could even just shed some light on this annoying situation. I have had this card for the last month or so and its been running fine, despite the odd crash. I haven't attempted any overclocking as I'm a bit of a newbie. Anyway, a friend of mine recommended a program called Rivatuner the other day, I was keen to try it out so installed it and was rather shocked to see my full-load temps at 102 degrees!! The usual idle temp here is 67 degrees. The room is small and has no air-conditioning, plus I live in Japan where the summer time and even early autumn is HOT. Thing is, I have plenty of ventilation on the PC case and a decent PSU (Enermax Noisetaker EG475P-VE). I'd really like to know if I'm doing something wrong, or the card is faulty.....am I putting my system in danger by playing games at these temps?? ANy advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers!!

Btw, I'm using ForceWare 66.31, if that's any help.....

Comments

• JChretienJChretien Vancouver, BC, Canada
    edited October 2004
    put a bigger heatsink on it XD i think maybe a vga silencer? ^^ that should make things better. I've also heard the card will throttle back at 120 degrees (celcius of course) so im not sure whether 102 degrees full load is all that uncommon. And yeah Japan IS hot -_- i was there for a 4 days last summer and it was like.. a 4 day sauna heh
  • ShortyShorty Manchester, UK Icrontian
    edited October 2004
    It comes with a VGA silencer 4 by default.

Mine never goes above 65c under full load AND overclocked.

Send it back as it sounds like something is wrong somewhere (you could take it apart and reseat the silencer but it may invalidate your warranty :( )
  • TheBaronTheBaron Austin, TX
    edited October 2004
    wait a minute.
    djandy, you're in fahrenheit aren't you?
  • edited October 2004