Open Source Evangelism: Instant messaging

Comments

• edited January 2009
    I've been using Pidgin for several months now, and I'm very satisfied with it. I love it for it's ease of use.

Enjoyed the article. :)
  • jaredjared College Station, TX Icrontian
    edited January 2009
    Yeah I would never use a different client on XP/*nix. Been using it since the early Gaim betas.

Adium is a good Mac alternative as well :)
  • ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited January 2009
    I greatly prefer Trillian.
  • SnarkasmSnarkasm Madison, WI Icrontian
    edited January 2009
    I thoroughly enjoy Pidgin. One stop shopping for all my protocols, free, and with a great plugin system. Good times.
  • pragtasticpragtastic Alexandria, VA Icrontian
    edited January 2009
    Pidgin ftw
  • KhaosKhaos New Hampshire
    edited January 2009
    Thanks to all for taking the time to read the article.

To anyone interested, the mission statement of the Open Source Evangelism series as well as an open-ended invitation to collaborate can be found here.

If you enjoy using Pidgin, please assist the Open Initiative movement by evangelizing in your own right; to your friends, to your colleagues, to random passerby on the street. ;)

Open = Win.
  • mas0nmas0n howdy Icrontian
    edited January 2009
    I have always used Trillian but moved to Pidgin when I switched to Ubuntu. Really liking it so far, but only using it for AIM/ICQ. Will give it a shot for IRC this evening, still using XChat for that.

Nice piece, Khaos.
  • CBCB Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ Der Millionendorf- Icrontian
    edited January 2009
    I've never tried it. I found Trillian a long time ago, and never looked back. This looks like it does basically all the same things (and costs the same) Can you compare it directly to Trillian? Other than being open source, what makes it fundamentally different?
    edited January 2009
    CB wrote: