Emergency Help (Unmountable Boot Volume) !

IceIce
edited July 2010 in Hardware
Hey everybody, I'm having serious problems with my computer. I'm not really good with computers so I might not be correct in everything I say.

I had some problems with pop ups, viruses and so on (I couldn't start My Computer or Explore, the CPU% usage of explorer.exe went up to 99% as soon as i tried to start any of these)...so I got a windows XP CD and tried to do a repair. IT asked me for an administrator password which I didn't know and the 3rd time i got it wrong it rebooted the computer. Then I tried to re-install windows and a blue screen appeared saying blah blah blah Unmountable Boot Volume...that screen appears anytime i start the computer, right as windows starts loading so I can't get anywhere...i tried to put an ms-dos system disk in - same thing, no effect...

please tell me what to do because I need my computer for my job and if I don't get it fixed soon I'll have serious troubles...

i'll probably open it and disconnect the hard drive and try to leave only the CD-ROM connected and see if i can install windows from there

any thoughts, suggestions and ideas are welcome, thank you all in advance...

Comments

• profdlpprofdlp The Holy City Of Westlake, Ohio
    edited February 2004
    Ice wrote:
    ...i'll probably open it and disconnect the hard drive and try to leave only the CD-ROM connected and see if i can install windows from there...
    What would you install it to if your HD is disconnected? :scratch:

Go into the BIOS and look for a place where you can set Boot Order (or words to that effect). Make your cdrom drive the first boot device.

With your WinXP CD in the drive, restart the computer. Watch the bottom of the screen, if you see a message "hit any key to boot from CD" make sure you hit a key.

The comp will boot off the CD. Let it go through its rigamarole and try another repair install. Are you sure you have all of the virus crapola removed?