What a stupid deal

TexTex Dallas/Ft. Worth
edited May 2005 in Internet & Media
Remember I'm a consultant. An analyst that wites software systems for a living... among many other titles......

I get paid by the hour. I take any job they pile enough green dead presidents high enough to get my attention but...

I mean for gawds sake here.

I'm sorry... (rant about to be deployed)

You guys know I'm brutally honest usually. (long sigh...)

The latest gig is putting a java frontend on a Cobol system. Yes I have 20+ years with cobol (thats why I got this gig but...) really now.. I mean in this day and age.

Isnt this like painting lipstick on a pig? (I stood up in a meeting and told my manager this in a meeting today)

I like the money but... I mean give me a break here. First job I will feel guilty cashing the checks on in ten years.

Just stuipd design. Stupid decisions. Numb nuts in charge of every aspect.

Company would be better off ordering several lobotomy's for employee's and much cheaper in the long run also!

I keep telling myself.. Ka-Ching (sound of cash register opening again)

But sucking 20 grand out of someone for hiring managers born brain dead is hard at my age. I guess I am to old for this.

I need a real life. You got to stay a mercenary to be a consultant and just keep making that cash register sound and I am too old and to honest to do this crap anymore I guess.

I feel like I am painting lipstick on a friggin pig.

With crayons.

Uhhhh... hold still sweetheart....

Oink Oink. ka-Ching.

Tex

Comments

• ShortyShorty Manchester, UK Icrontian
    edited May 2005
    Java & Cobol.. frickin ouch :eek:

But hey, you are getting my friend and it's your job.. so if thats what the customer wants, thats what the customer gets ;D
  • TexTex Dallas/Ft. Worth
    edited May 2005
    Oh I give the customer what they want... no matter how stupid.. I even smile for 20 grand,

But I do feel guilty.... All the way to the bank. (grin)

Tex