Value System

edited July 2005 in Hardware
Hey, I'm new to building computers. I would really like to build a value system within the next few weeks for under $160. I basically need everything, i do though have an old 5.25" floppy drive i would like to have in it. i would also like it to have wireless capability. well, if anyone has suggestions please let me know. Thanks!!

Comments

• GrayFoxGrayFox /dev/urandom Member
    edited July 2005
    For under $160 I don't think thats possiable espicaly not with wi-fi.
  • macdude425macdude425 Mr. Roger's Neighborhood
    edited July 2005
    OK, the 5.25" drive will work, as long as you have a floppy cable that will work with the drive. $160 isn't very much, I'm assuming you don't need a speed demon?
  • sfleurietsfleuriet Texas New
    edited July 2005
    no he's looking for a complete Value System. thats not TOTALLY unheard of... a p3 is what I can recommend best, but I wasn't comfortable telling him what all to get.
  • profdlpprofdlp The Holy City Of Westlake, Ohio
    edited July 2005
    What do you intend to use the computer for?

You might be able to piece together a cheap system like that, though I doubt it. Would you consider buying used parts, ala eBay?
    edited July 2005
    He would pretty much have to resort to eBay for just about everything.

I suggest an older Socket A Athlon or Duron, but that's just me.
  • primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian
    edited July 2005
    I'm gonna second that, and say you're almost definitely not going to be able to have ANY new parts in there. Your best bet might be to hit up a flea market or garage sale. Hell, I've even found decent computers laying on the street on garbage night that were salvageable. You'll probably be able to find a complete old system on ebay for around that much, but you really have to watch shipping on those things because old computers can be heavy.
  • edited July 2005