first time builder

edited October 2005 in Hardware
i always had my brother or his frends make my computers but i decided to try it myself this time around. so far i got down some of the main parts that i want but im not so sure about everything because im not really an expert at this are anything.

for my hard drive i saw a 250gb seagate for a pretty good price so i think im going to go with that.

my friend told me to get amd proc. so i think im either gonna go for the athlon 64 3700+ sandiego or athlon 64 4000+ sandiego.

i'm not really sure about the motherboard yet. ive been lookin into MSI, DFI, ABIT, and ECS boards but ive heard a few mixed reviews for some of them so im unsure here.

for ram ive been told to get: CORSAIR XMS 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory - Retail

from a friend of mine but if theres anything better or if this is a bad stick to begin with i hope someone can lead me in the roight direction. also i heard some people saying this ram doesn't work sometimes and on some boards.

that's about it for now i think. i know i have to pick the case and drives/power supply but i think i can get to those a little later. alright if anyone can help me with my little project id be grateful. thanks :)

Comments

• LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited September 2005
    Thanks for joining our community! This is type of thread we love pouncing on. Before we make hardware recommendations, we need to know some very important information. The fundamental questions any builder must answer before designing a system:

1. How will the computer be employed? What will it's principle use(s) be?
    2. What is the budget?
    3. How long do you wish to keep the computer. What upgrades might you be interested in for the future?

Without those questions, one will build just for the sake of building, which is fine, as long as money is only a secondary issue.