What's the best software to use?

WingaWinga MrSouth Africa Icrontian
edited January 2006 in Hardware
I have always been dead scared to overclock anything, but have been messing around with Riva Tuner on my video card and am very impressed with the improvement.

What I would like to know is what's the best program for overclocking a AMD64 cpu. Bearing in mind that it HAS to be idiot proof and understandable for a complete noob :confused:

Also what extra gain can I expect to get from a 3200.

Comments

• edited January 2006
    Depending on what mobo you have, you might have some really good overclocking options built into the bios of your board. What brand and model is your mobo?

Your overclock will depend both on the process your processor is made on; ie whether is 130 or 90 nm process and also just luck of the draw on how well your individual processor will overclock. If your 3200 is a socket 939 Winchester or Venice, I would think that 2400-2500 should be fairly easy to get and if it's an older Newcastle getting to that same speed range is also possible, but the processor will most probably require more tweaking of vcore and run a bit hotter.

For a windows overclocking utility, I've heard a lot of things said for A64 Tweaker, but I really haven't messed with it much.
  • WingaWinga Mr South Africa Icrontian
    edited January 2006
    Thanks I managed to get the latest version of A64 Tweak from the extreme OC site.

However, I do not have a continental clue what any of those fields represent :scratch:
    As I mentioned, it must be a utility an idiot could use.

It is a Gigabyte GA-K8NS (socket 754) MB and the proc is an older Newcasle.
    This particular rig only has a 3000+ in it. Not the 3200 as previously mentioned.
  • LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited January 2006