Hard drive shutting down

edited January 2006 in Hardware
Just wondered if anyone can help. My hard drive keeps shutting down I am using Windows XP Home Edition

Comments

• TexTex Dallas/Ft. Worth
    edited January 2006
    can you be more specific? From what little you posted I would GUESS and I really want to make certain you understand that its a WILD GUESS (and I have been in the buisness over 20 years)

1) cables
    2) power supply

Now... can you be much more specific on all your exact hardware and exactly whats happening when the hard drive "shuts down"?

Thanks in advance. We really DO want to help. You just didnt give us a lot to work with

Tex
  • edited January 2006
    Sorry, I am a bit of a novice.

Seems to be when playing games or burning a disc the hard drive switches off.

Pull out plug and put in again I can then switch it back on.
    edited January 2006
    when you say it switchs off... You mean it (the drive) actually powers down? iT STOPS SPINNING OR WHAT ? And you pull the power plug.. (the one with four wires) while it is still powered up and it connects? Powered down or..... Please be as detailed as possible to get the best advice as we are not there like a normal repair tech. This is the internet and we depend on you for every ounce of info.

IF thats true I am now guessing power supply but you gave no details into your computer? Is it a home build? A Dell or what? Whats in it and whats the power supply rated at etc...?

AGAIN! We want to help and your starving us for info. Please be as complete as possible describing your computer. Yes we know its hard but do as MUCH as you can.

Tex
  • edited January 2006
    It is the tower I am talking about it just shuts down then I said I take the plug out put it back in then switch the tower back on I have the cable and fuses but no good

I have AMD Athlon (tm) XP
    1.8 GHz
    224 Ram
    Windows xp Home edition
    edited January 2006