PC Cuts Out Under Hard Usage

xavsheriffxavsheriff London, England
edited February 2006 in Hardware
Hi, I am a new member... hooray!
I am no expert but like to dable and through being a wannabe designer have little choice but to upgrade and play around with my pc's all the time.
I am having similar problems.
I've had my PC for about 2 years.
I run a AMD 3000+ 1.4ghz with an epox ultra 400 motherboard (i think)
512 ddrRam
radion 9200 128mb graphics card
CD RW
CDROM
and normal floppy
Dont know the power supply stats but can check.

It cuts out.. no blue screen just dead with front light still on. Leave it for a while and then it fires up again. Used to be once in a blue moon now happens more often usually a few times within a day. I thought it might be overheating but this sounds more likely... it doesn't seem to correlate with using processor hungry programs such as photoshop and 3dsmax...plus i dont even get the "windows wasn't shut down properly message" any clues??????
xav

Comments

• sgtwilliamssgtwilliams Grand Rapids MI
    edited January 2006
    I tend to go with the Power Supply also. especially seeing that your 6800 is 3 days old. When something starts going wrong your best bet is to isolate what has changed recently. That new card is a power hog and that all points to the PSU.

Jimborae Completely off topic but what the heck is a "Mosside crack tart"
  • ArmoArmo Mr. Nice Guy Is Dead,Only Aqua Remains Member
    edited January 2006
    one thing you can do is check the event log of the machine, right click My Computer and goto manage, and under event viewer you might be able to see any errors it gets before it shuts down, XP has an inherent flaw that makes it restart instantly where in the past it would display a BSOD, if you are having event in the even log, i suggest turning this fuction of XP off