Yet another "i'm new to a64, please help" thread

primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' BoopinDetroit, MI Icrontian
edited February 2006 in Hardware
Okay it's definitely time to upgrade and the opportunity to move into a pci-e system has presented itself, so... without further ado:

I am still stuck in the NF7-S / 2600+ era. I have 2x512 Corsair TwinX PC3200 memory, which I hope is still valid. I'd like to move into 2gb, and I think I could if I sold the TwinX that I have right now and apply the profit towards a 2gb kit... But it's not a neccessity.

I'd REALLY like a dual core opteron or A64. So, what's the current "best price/performance" motherboard/processor combo out there? I think all I need are the mobo and processor - I have a really good antec PSU, a 250gb sata drive, and a PCI-E video card. Oh, I also need the heatsink. I have a SLK-947U for my mobile barton 2600+, which I have been informed cannot come with me to my next platform :(

Suggestions?

Comments

• csimoncsimon Acadiana Icrontian
    edited February 2006
    I recommend Asus A8R32 ...it will be out real soon and is already in the process of reviews.

If you're not too concerned about clocking over 2.6 to 2.7 ghz I'd recommend the Opteron. I haven't seen one that won't do somewhere in between at least. Either the 165 or the 170 ...I prefer the 170 x10 multi. The large cache is great too.

Also whatever X2 with the larger cache x10 should be just as good at everything. Most say that the larger cache doesn't matter but Omega has some fpu data that proves otherwise.

heatsink = big typhoon.

One thing for sure ...if you want cool you're really in for it!

edit:\ if you want links there's tons ...skim thru the first and last page whenever you get a chance. http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=86139&page=10

fast 2gb kits pt 2 - http://www.anandtech.com/memory/showdoc.aspx?i=2676

rd580 - http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2609