overclocking temperatures...

pc0019pc0019 Herefordshire, UK
edited March 2006 in Hardware
hi.
Humor me, I'm new to overclocking, and obviasly dont want to damage anything. for some reason, even when I overclock to 230x15 (origonal 200x15) my cpu temperature only goes up a few degrees to 22 celcius (when I am on the desktop, only running a few background apps). I have a skt 478 P4 3.0 Ht. I was wondering if this was normal, and if perhaps the cpu thermometer or whatever takes the temperature is damaged.
Btw I am using Corecenter, the app that came with the MB for OCing (MSI 865PE Neo2-P Platinum Edition)
Thanks

Comments

• edited March 2006
    As long as you aren't raising the vcore to get that extra speed, you won't see a drastic change in temps. With that said, 22° C for cpu temp is really unrealistic for either a Northwood or Prescott P4 and they won't run at those temps except if you are using some kind of subambient cooling like phase change, peltier effect/watercooling or an evaporative water cooling solution like a bong cooler.

2 questions for you here.
    1. What model P4 are you running, a Northwood (512k L2 cache) or a Prescott (1 MB L2 cache)?
    2. What kind of cooling are you using presently? Is it the stock retail hsf, aftermarket hsf or whatever?
  • pc0019pc0019 Herefordshire, UK
    edited March 2006
    I'm running a Prescott, and using this fan: (the top one)
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Online_Catalogue_Zalman_121.html with artic silver paste
  • LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited March 2006
    Very good choice of CPU heatsin-fan unit.

If your system is reporting only 22*C for CPU core temperature, one or both of the following apply:

1) You live in Alaska and your computer is outdoors, or
    2) Your monitoring software is kaput, or is monitoring something other than CPU

What are you using to monitor temperatures.
  • edited March 2006
    ^^^^^What he said. :D